Introducing the Essentials Series

EC-Council’s very first MOOC certification course series available through participating partners, covering essentials skills in Network Defense, Ethical Hacking, and Digital Forensics.

Prepare to start your entry-level career in Cybersecurity today with the Essentials Series

Your Pathway to an Entry Level Career in Cybersecurity

Courses may be taken individually or in sequence

Your Entry-Level Cybersecurity Career

The Essentials Series and Certified Cybersecurity Technician (CCT) certifications will prepare and validate your skills for entry-level job roles of the future.

Local Area Network Specialist

Network Security Analyst

Network Technician

Network Administrator

Network Coordinator

Help Desk Technician

Technical Support Specialist

Systems Specialist

Computer Support Specialist

Cybersecurity Specialist

Cybersecurity Technician

Cyber Forensic Specialist

Cyber Operations Technician

Intelligence Operations Specialist

IT Security Specialist

Our Mission

Recent U.S. Department of Labor statistics and O*NET job role classifications have identified not only a need for Cybersecurity professionals, but a specific need at the Level 1 and Level 2 Cybersecurity Technician level. The Essentials Series was created to help share and grow tactical cyber security skills to better educate, retool, and reskill work-ready professionals.

Essentials Series Course Resources

Included in Partner MOOCs
  • eBook (via ePub)
  • Instructor Slides & Syllabus
  • Video lectures & lab lectures
Optional (Paid) Upgrades
  • Lab Range
  • Post Course Assessment & Certificate of Completion
  • Online Exam Prep Program
  • eBook (via Vital Source Bookshelf) with Videos
  • Certification Exam Voucher

Course Outlines & Examinations

1. Network Security Fundamentals

2. Identification, Authentication and Authorization

3. Network Security Controls – Administrative Controls

4. Network Security Controls – Physical Controls

5. Network Security Controls – Technical Controls

6. Virtualization and Cloud Computing

7. Wireless Network Security

8. Mobile Device Security

9. IoT Device Security

10. Cryptography and PKI

11. Data Security

12. Network Traffic Monitoring

1. Information Security Fundamentals

2. Ethical Hacking Fundamentals

3. Information Security Threats and Vulnerabilities

4. Password Cracking Techniques and Countermeasures

5. Social Engineering Techniques and Countermeasures

6. Network Level Attacks and Countermeasures

7. Web Application Attacks and Countermeasures

8. Wireless Attacks and Countermeasures

9. Mobile Attacks and Countermeasures

10. IoT and OT Attacks and Countermeasures

11. Cloud Computing Threats and Countermeasures

12. Penetration Testing Fundamentals

1 . Computer Forensics Fundamentals

2 . Computer Forensics Investigation Process

3 . Understanding Hard Disks and File Systems

4 . Data Acquisition and Duplication

5 . Defeating Anti-forensics Techniques

6 . Windows Forensics

7 . Linux and Mac Forensics

8 . Network Forensics

9 . Investigating Web Attacks

10. Dark Web Forensics

11. Investigating Email Crimes

12. Malware Forensics

Certified Ethical Hacking Course CEHv11

Certified Ethical Hacking Course CEHv12

EC-Council Accredited Training Center